ITE templates and resources

Templates and resources for use by teacher education providers and panel members engaged in national accreditation of initial teacher education (ITE) programs, either for program submission or to keep up to date with accreditation requirements.


  • Final professional experience recommendations (PDF, 1.33MB) - this document is used by all Queensland supervising teachers, in conjunction with site coordinators and ITE provider representatives, to report on the standard achieved by a preservice teacher at the end of their ITE program, by comparing it against the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers (APST) Graduate Career Stage.
  • Elaboration – Domestic and family violence (PDF 108KB) – developed in response to Recommendation 65 of the Not Now, Not Ever: Putting an End to Domestic and Family Violence in Queensland Taskforce Report, by the QCT in collaboration with the Department of Education and Training, Queensland Deans of Education, the Queensland Catholic Education Commission and Independent Schools Queensland to facilitate the inclusion of education and training on domestic and family violence into initial teacher education programs.
  • English Language Proficiency (ELP) requirements Fact Sheet (PDF, 484 KB)


Significant dates for 2018
Stage 2 accreditation submissions Individualised dates as advised
Stage 1 accreditation submissions Individualised dates as advised
Annual statements 30 June 2018

Languages as a primary curriculum area

The transition to Australian Curriculum (version 8.2) means that primary programs must include study of languages in their program design.

The study of languages as a curriculum area in primary programs may be covered, for example, through references to general concepts such as the nature of language learning, languages and culture, language learning and literacy development etc.; or as a dedicated languages program with a focus on the proficiency in the language being learnt.

ITE providers need to respond to Program Standard 4.2 by making a case for their approach in accreditation applications, including a sound rationale for program design. For example, a provider might note that language specialists are prepared via specialised programs and that their program prepares generalist primary teachers with an understanding of the languages requirements of the curriculum. It would then be at the panel discretion to determine if the Program Standard is satisfactorily met based on the applicable jurisdictional needs.

Information about languages as a primary curriculum area can be accessed at:

Primary specialisation

The Teacher Education Ministerial Advisory Group (TEMAG) report recommended that all initial teacher education primary graduates be equipped with a subject specialisation. Primary graduates will be prepared to teach in each of the learning areas of the primary school curriculum, and in addition, will undertake a specialisation in one learning area of the primary school curriculum.

The primary specialisation requirements are set out in Program Standard 4.4 in Accreditation of Initial Teacher in Australia: Standards and Procedures. These requirements are clarified in the Guideline: Primary Specialisation.


Log in

Find a teacher


Quick links


Connect with us